Home Page

Share this school board profile with your neighbors, friends and families as well as other concerned parents.

ON, Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board

Summary

The Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board’s Vision for 21st Century Teaching & Learning, is to install in all schools, elementary to secondary with WIFI (wireless technology) without consultation with parents.  In speaking with a board superintendent, he did not specify the timeline as to when this will happen, but was clear that it will be taking place.  A parent was going to present an information night at their children’s school on wifi technology and reported health issues in school environments to parents.  This meeting was cancelled by the superintendent with the explanation that this was not a school issue.

The Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board’s Vision for 21st Century Teaching & Learning, is to install in all schools, elementary to secondary with WIFI (wireless technology) without consultation with parents.  In speaking with a board superintendent, he did not specify the timeline as to when this will happen, but was clear that it will be taking place.  A parent was going to present an information night at their children’s school on wifi technology and reported health issues in school environments to parents.  This meeting was cancelled by the superintendent with the explanation that this was not a school issue.

The Simcoe Muskoka Public Board has had WIFI (wireless technology) installed in all of their schools for the last several years.  There have been children and teachers who have developed health issues as a result.  Some parents were forced to remove their children from their schools because of the health impact.  Some parents had no choice but to withdraw their children from the public school system wishing to take the precautionary approach. 

The Simcoe Muskoka Catholic District School Board states that they take its direction from various health agencies including Health Canada, and are following guidelines stating that there is no evidence of negative health effects of Wi-Fi.

However, Health Canada has no evidence to prove that Wi-Fi is safe for  children, and when other parents from other Boards contacted Health Canada about their concerns especially on their children’s health from wi-fi, Health Canada would not issue a letter stating that wi-fi is safe for pregnant women and children who make up the majority of the school population.   

The WIFi systems already in place in other boards are of commercial grade Wi-Fi systems, like the CISCO 3600 series which is going to be installed in the Peel Board, and is 8x stronger than home-style routers.  These routers are going to be on 6 hours a day, 5 days a week.  Depending on the installation of these routers, there will be routers in children’s classrooms.

To inform parents on this issue, an information night on “WIFi in schools – Is It Safe” with guest speaker Rodney Palmer from Simcoe Safe School Committee will take place on June 4th @ Holly Rec Centre in Barrie for 7pm.   Parents will learn more about “WiFi – Is it Safe” and have a chance to share their concerns, and begin to take action for the safe learning environments of their children.

Collectively, parents’ voices can be heard by sending an email to your Trustees, MP, and MPP using the C4STs profile sheet. We can make a difference – for the health of our children and to protect their futures.    

School Board and Government Officials Contact Information

Simcoe County MPs

Kellie Leitch
MP - Simcoe-Grey
501 Hume Street
Collingwood, Ontario, L9Y 4H8
Email: Kellie.Leitch@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 705-445-5557
Fax: 705-445-5155

Bruce Stanton
MP - Simcoe-North
575 West Street South, Unit 2A
Orillia, Ontario, L3V 7N6
Email: bruce.stanton@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 705-327-0513
Fax: 705-327-8310

Peter Van Loan
MP - York-Simcoe
45 Grist MIll Road, Unit 10
Holland Landing, Ontario, L9N 1M7
Email: peter.vanloan@parl.gc.ca
Telephone: 905-898-1600
Fax: 905-898-4600

Simcoe County MPPs

Rod Jackson
MPP - Barrie
14 - 20 Bell Farm Road
Barrie, Ontario, L4M 6E4
Email: rod.jackson@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-726-5538

Garfield Dunlopp
MPP - Simcoe North
Orillia Office
14 Coldwater Road West
Orillia, Ontario L3V 3L1
Email: garfield.dunlopco@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-326-3246
Midland Office
482 Elizabeth Street
Midland, Ontario L4R 1Z8
Email: garfield.dunlopco@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-526-8671

Tim Hudak
MPP - Niagra West-Glanbrook
M1-4961 King Street East
Beamsville, Ontario L0R 1B0
Email: tim.hudakco@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 905-563-1755
Jim Wilson
MPP - Simcoe-Grey
Alliston Office
28 - 180 Parsons Road
Alliston, Ontario L9R 1E8
Email: jim.wilson@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-435-4087
Collingwood Office
50 Hume Street
Collingwood, Ontario L9Y 1V2
Email: jim.wilson@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 705-446-1090

Julia Munro
MPP - Simcoe South
8-45 Grist Mill Road
Holland Landing, Ontario L9N 1M7
Email: julia.munro@pc.ola.org
Telephone: 905-895-1555

Board of Trustees

Clayton Ferguson
Essa, Essa-CFB, Adjala-Tosorontio, Adjala-Tosorontio-CFB, & New Tecumseth
Email: crjferguson@smcdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-722-3555 ext. 467

Shawn Cooper
Clearview, Collingwood, Springwater, & Wasaga Beach
Email: shawn.cooper@smcdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-722-3555 ext. 461

Connie Positano
Barrie Wards 1, 2, 3, 4, & 5
Email: cpositano@smcdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-722-3555 ext. 347

Francis Smith
Orillia, Ramara, Severn, & Oro-Medonte
Email: fsmith@smcdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-722-3555 ext. 472

Emily Cecchetti
Student Trustee
Email: EmilyC@smcdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-722-3555 ext. 388
Maria Hardie
Barrie Wards 6, 7, 8, 9, & 10
Email: mhardie@smcdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-722-3555 ext. 468

Carol Corriveau-Truchon
Huntsville, Muskoka Lakes, Lake of Bays, Bracebridge, Gravenhurst, Georgian Bay, & Parry Sound
Email: ccorriveautruchon@smcdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-722-3555 ext. 462

Jeanny Salmon
Bradford West Gwillimbury, & Innisfil
Email: jsalmon@smcdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-722-3555 ext. 471

Catherine MacDonald
Midland, Penetanguishene, Tiny, & Tay
Email: cmacdonald@smcdsb.on.ca
Telephone: 705-722-3555 ext. 370

Wardens

Cal Patterson
Warden
Administration Centre
1110 Hwy 26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: warden@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-726-9300 ext. 1226
Fax: 705-725-1285
Harry Hughes
Deputy Warden
Administration Centre
1110 Hwy 26
Mldhurst, ON L0L 1X0
Email: harry.hughes@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-487-2171

Mayors and Deputies

Tom Walsh
Mayor, Township of Adjala-Tosorontio
Email: tom.walsh@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-434-5055

Doug White
Mayor, Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury
Email: doug.white@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 905-775-5366

Ken Ferguson
Mayor, Township of Clearview
Email: ken.ferguson@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-428-6230

Sandra Cooper
Mayor, Town of Collingwood
Email: sandra.cooper@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-445-1030

Terry Dowdall
Mayor, Township of Essa
Email: terry.dowdall@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-424-9770

Barb Baguley
Mayor, Town of Innisfil
Email: barb.baguley@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-436-3710

Gord McKay
Mayor, Town of Midland
Email: gord.mckay@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-526-4275

Mike MacEachern
Mayor, Town of New Tecumseth
Email: mike.maceachern@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-435-6219

Harry Hughes
Mayor, Township of Ordo-Medonte
Email: harry.hughes@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-487-2171

Gerry Marshall
Mayor, Town of Penetanguishene
Email: gerry.marshall@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-549-7453

Bill Duffy
Mayor, Township of Ramara
Email: bill.duffy@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-848-5374

Mike Burkett
Mayor, Township of Severn
Email: mike.burkett@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-325-2315

Linda Collins
Mayor, Township of Springwater
Email: linda.collins@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-728-4784

Scott Warnock
Mayor, Township of Tay
Email: scott.warnock@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-534-7248

Ray Miller
Mayor, Township of Tiny
Email: ray.millar@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-526-4204

Cal Patterson
Mayor, Town of Wasaga Beach
Email: cal.patterson@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-429-3844

Mary Small Brett
Deputy Mayor, Township of Adjala-Tosorontio
Email: mary.smallbrett@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-434-5055

Rob Keffer
Deputy Mayor, Town of Bradford West Gwillimbury
Email: rob.keffer@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 905-775-5366

Alicia Savage
Deputy Mayor, Township of Clearview
Email: alicia.savage@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-428-6230

Rick Lloyd
Deputy Mayor, Town of Collingwood
Email: rick.lloyd@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-445-1030

Sandie Macdonald
Deputy Mayor, Township of Essa
Email: sandie.macdonald@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-424-9770

Dan Davidson
Deputy Mayor, Town of Innisfil
Email: dan.davidson@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-436-3710

Stephan Kramp
Deputy Mayor, Town of Midland
Email: stephan.kramp@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-526-4275

Rick Milne
Deputy Mayor, Town of New Tecumseth
Email: rick.milne@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-435-6219

Ralph Hough
Deputy Mayor, Township of Ordo-Medonte
Email: ralph.hough@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-487-2171

Patrick Marion
Deputy Mayor, Town of Penetanguishene
Email: patrick.marion@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-549-7453

Basil Clarke
Deputy Mayor, Township of Ramara
Email: basil.clarke@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-484-5374

Judith Cox
Deputy Mayor, Township of Severn
Email: judith.cox@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-325-2315

Dan McLean
Deputy Mayor, Township of Springwater
Email: dan.mclean@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-728-4784

Bill Rawson
Deputy Mayor, Township of Tay
Email: bill.rawson@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-534-7248

George Lawrence
Deputy Mayor, Township of Tiny
Email: george.lawrence@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-526-4204

David Foster
Deputy Mayor, Town of Wasaga Beach
Email: david.foster@simcoe.ca
Telephone: 705-429-3844

Leave a comment

Please login to leave a comment. If you haven't already registered, please click here. Alternatively you may login using one of the methods below.

Your Language:
English French Spanish

Support Us

C4ST is completely funded by concerned citizens such as yourself. 

DONATE

Stand Up As Canadians...